Residency Leadership Group

Residency Leadership Group

Share this:

The Internal Medicine Residency team is dedicated to providing a world-class program.

Our Residency Leadership group includes:

  • Ralph E. Whatley, M.D., FACP, FCCP
    Chair, Department of Medicine
  • Bruce E. Johnson, M.D.
    Associate Chair for Education
  • Richard Butler, D.O., FACOI
    Director of Medical Education for Osteopathic Programs
    Program Director, Osteopathic Internal Medicine
  • Charles J. Schleupner, M.Sc., M.D., FACP, FIDSA, FSHEA
    Program Director
  • Claudia Kroker-Bode, M.D., Ph.D., FACP
    Associate Program Director, Carilion Clinic
  • Paul Dallas, M.D., FACP, CCMEP
    Associate Program Director, Carilion Clinic
    CME Director
  • Amar Sawh, M.D., FACP
    Associate Program Director, Salem VAMC

The residency program also consists of an invaluable mix of Core Faculty, Program Staff and, our Current Residents.

Two state chapters of the American College of Physicians awarded two of our Carilion Clinic General Internal Medicine faculty physicians their top teaching award in 2013. Dr. Jon Sweet was awarded the Faculty Teacher Award for the Virginia Chapter. Dr. Claudia Kroker-Bode was awarded the Maryland Chapter's Samuel Asper Award for Excellence in Medicine.